• Musings

    Getting closer.

    Received the draft cover for ‘Breaking the Lore’ from the publisher. Can’t share it with you all yet, as there a few things to tweak. Should be able to give more info about the cover, publication date, etc in the near future. But it’s all getting very real now!

  • Musings

    The Prince

    My short story ‘The Prince’ (under the ‘Short Stories’ section of this website) has just been published in issue 5 of Alternate History Fiction magazine (http://www.alternate-history-fiction.com/…/ahf-magazine-5.h…). You can read The Prince here on my website, or check out AHF magazine for all sorts of other good stuff.  

  • Musings

    Well, it must be official!

    As has just been posted on Twitter by my publisher: “I’m overjoyed to share that debut author @AndyRedsmith has accepted a 2 book offer from @canelo_co. His hilarious, artfully constructed #cosycrime #urbanfantasy crossover series is perfect for fans of Douglas Adams & Ben Aaronovitch. Breaking the Lore (bk 1) is out April 2019!”   And: “A witty, unique new voice, @AndyRedsmith & his curmudgeonly Inspector Nick Paris are sure to captivate. A man of logic and whisky, Nick doesn’t believe in magic...until faced with a 15cm tall murder victim. And the dead fairy is only the beginning!”   Can’t argue with that, can I?

  • Musings

    WIP update

    Halfway through writing Book 2, needed a character and subplot earlier than originally planned. Been retro-fitting them into story, while handling various real-life activities which had to take precedence. Now just about back on track. (Publisher breathes huge sigh of relief!)  

  • Musings

    First Page competition

    Last year I won the WordsWithJam ‘First Page’ competition with Breaking the Lore. This year I reached the final shortlist (listed as Andy Smith) with the sequel. I’ll settle for that. http://www.wordswithjam.co.uk/ Congrats to this year’s winners!  

  • Musings

    Poetry and Prose night

    On Wednesday August 1 I took part in the Poetry and Prose night at Petersgate Tap in Stockport. Only a small event, but gradually growing. Some very good stuff was read out. And they even put up with me reading the first chapter of Breaking the Lore (plus an extract from later in the book.) As Arnie would say: I’ll be back.